Five Things Friday

1) I love short weeks, but they totally throw me off.  Especially when everyone else around me doesn’t have class/it’s just a normal Monday.  Let me explain: Monday was MLK Day, a national holiday.  Naturally, the high school I’m working at got the day off, but it was the first day of classes for everyone back on campus, so it was kind of weird.  Now, I’m not complaining about a day off, but it was just a weird “start” to the semester, even though I’ve been back for three weeks now…

2) A year and two days ago I left to study abroad in Costa Rica, which was absolutely terrifying at the time but seriously one of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had.  I was so blessed to be able to go, meet some amazing people, help out in schools, and end up learning so much about myself –> that sounds weird, but it’s amazing what you learn when you are forced outside (way outside) of your comfort zone.  Not easy but so rewarding.  In any case, I’m having a really hard time believing that was a whole year ago…

 3)  Midterms.  I’ve never been on the giving (rather than receiving) end of them.  It’s weird.  Much like I’ve never been the one calling kids out on their use of cellphones during class.  Between that and going to bed even more ridiculously early than I typically do (as compared with other college kids) I’m feeling kinda like an old granny over here…

only 26.2...

only 26.2…

4) An old granny that’s running a marathon in April!! I’m not going to lie, that kind of freaks me out when I look at my training schedule and how I’m ever going to fit in all the running I need (want) to do with crazy teaching hours and oh yeah being in college and seeing my friends.  Only slightly overwhelming.  I think I need to adopt the attitude of just hitting the most basic training, and anything over that is extra and good, but not feeling like I have to.  I really like to give everything my all, but I’m starting to learn that compromises aren’t just between two people.

that's about right...

that’s about right…

5) FridayFridayFridayFriday! So excited, in case you couldn’t tell.  It also means only two days until I start legit teaching 2-3 periods a day through the end of April.  For all you teachers out there I realize that only 3 classes/3 preps is a gift and I should not be complaining, which I like to think I’m not.  It’s just a little nerve-wracking, that’s all.  Just like the marathon, I’ve got to take it in small chunks at a time.  Here’s to making it to February break!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

