Five Things Friday!

Sorry for being so MIA this week!  But actually, not so sorry.  That seems contradictory but hear me out.  This has been a crazy week – it’s my last week of “real” college which is at the same time exciting and terrifying.  Sure, I’ll be here next semester, but I’ll be doing student teaching, so it’s back to a high school schedule for me.  Good thing I’m a morning person.  (Although I have a feeling workouts are going to have to move to the afternoon unless I want to get up at 4 or 4:30 to run outside on ice-covered roads…somehow I don’t think that’s the safest thing to be doing!)  So needless to say, it’s been a crazy week full of labs and exams and final performances (watching them…you didn’t actually think I could sing or act did you?!), being with friends, etc.  I’ve really enjoyed blogging since I started this summer, and it’s something I want to continue.  But I don’t want to feel that life “gets in the way” of blogging, but the reverse.  So, bear with me on the limited posts at times – life comes first!  Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere – I plan to stick around the blog-o-sphere for a while, I just figured I’d explain myself for a little.  In any case, on for Five Things Friday.  Once again, thanks so much to Clare for hosting!

1)  I had my last college class on Wednesday.  Wow does that sound weird to say.  It’s even stranger to be going through this while all my friends are talking about their last semester.  Sure I’m going to be around, but it will be different for sure.  Today I went to visit the high school I’ll be teaching at, and left with a lesson planner and a gradebook…that got real fast.

2)  In said last class, we wrote poems about each other.  I’ll share the one written about me:

Caroline

Charitable, athletic, intelligent.

She loves going on outing club trips.

She hates it when people don’t eat her banana bread.

She fears being abducted by aliens.

She wishes for luck in running the Boston Marathon.

Last Name.

Note: I taught astrobiology this fall, hence the alien abduction.  And I’m known for making banana bread and leaving it on the kitchen table for others to enjoy – baking is such a great stress reliever/procrastination method, especially around finals!

3)  So if you read the above poem in #2, the cat’s out of the bag.  Remember when I mentioned last Friday that I might have some exciting news?  Well there it is…I’m running the Boston Marathon this spring!!!  I’ll be running on behalf of Esperanza Academy and I could not be more excited!  Details to come :)

4)  Today, I brought 207 pounds of food to the local food pantry, all raised through a food drive on campus that I helped to organize.  It was a lot of work, but I couldn’t have been happier with the student response!

Okay so I didn't take this picture, but you can get a sense of my run!

Okay so I didn’t take this picture, but you can get a sense of my run!

5)  SNOW!!   I definitely missed this being abroad last winter/spring.  I know that I’ll start to complain, especially when there are no sidewalks/shoulder of the road to run on and  we get a foot of snow right before a long training run, but for now it’s absolutely gorgeous and I’m just going to enjoy it :)

Runners – Any tips for a first time marathoner?  Suggested training plans? Winter running tips?  I’ll take anything I can get!

Teacher-readers:  How do you do it?  Exercise that is.  Are you a before school or after school kind of person? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Things Friday!

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Congrats on the last class and Boston!

  2. Caroline says:

    thanks so much! It certainly made for an exciting week :)

Leave a Reply

