November Running – Tank Top Edition

Yup, tank top running, in November.  And no, I wasn’t inside on a tread mill.  Good try though.  Saturday I slept in (til 10ish – it was glorious!) and was waffling over when to do my long run, as my legs were killing me from lifting Thursday.  I did some work, procrastinating, trying to find a Sunday running group to do my long run.  But then I went outside, and it was gorgeous!  Plus the weather Sunday called for a wintery mix (which we didn’t end up getting) so that pretty much made my decision right there.  I won’t get into the details of the run – it was beautiful, no music, sweaty, and HARD.  My legs were just so heavy, so I really broke down the run mile by mile.  Highlight was seeing a grandmother and grandson of about two years I’d guess on the John Deere tractor mowing the lawn.  The little kids had the soundproof headphone things (I’m failing at coming up with that word right now) and looked like he was having the time of his life.  It was awesome.  I got the biggest smile and wave from him, and of course gave a huge wave back, and ended the last 2 miles or so with the biggest grin on my face.  Happiness is contagious.

Just as a note today I wore my wool socks with my flats at church…yes I am that cool.  But let’s be real, when it’s in the 30s and part of the service is outside, you better dress for it!  So as much as I was dragging yesterday, I was so glad to have taken advantage of the nice weather. Today would have been leggings and gloves and earwarmer kind of morning, which while great, I’ll still take the warm weather for as long as it wants to hang around.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the snow, but running wise it does complicate things a bit :)  I’m determined not to turn to the treadmill too much this winter….Speaking of which, I’m ready now.  I don’t have a winter coat yet (still at home), but I did get an awesome pair of (used) hockey skates for a whopping 5.28 at a ski/skate sale today!

Did you long run this weekend?  How’d it go?

Favorite season?  Favorite running season?

Any good ice skating stories out there?

This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November Running – Tank Top Edition

  1. jmlol says:

    Running in a tank top! I couldn’t imagine, and it’s probably colder where you are. I would also like to let you know that I have nominated you for a Leibster Award, so check out my post for the details!
    http://jmlol.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/and-the-winner-is/

    Oh, I’m not spamming; promise!

  2. Caroline says:

    Thanks so much! It’s been a busy week, so I hope to get the post up later tonight or tomorrow. And yeah, the tank top running was certainly an exception, although a nice one! The next day I was bundled up with long leggings, gloves, and a headband…now that’s more like it!

Leave a Reply

