Stars Have Been Consuming My Life

computerized image of a black hole
Image from http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap101207.html

Sorry to have gone off in a black hole there on you.

But actually.  I’ve been up to my head in astronomy, or should I say astrobiology…it’s teaching time!  As part of my class I have to plan and teach three lessons, and so this week I’ll be teaching six lessons (1 prep, 2 classes per day) about life cycles of stars and the forces acting during the stellar life cycle.  Suffice it to say I’ve been learning a lot through this process, about stars and about teaching!

Today was day one, and it actually went a lot better than I thought it would.  Sure, there were glitches, but that’s bound to happen.  I’m starting to realize that flexibility is key.  You can have an awesome lesson planned, but if the internet crashes (like it did today) or numbers don’t work out as you were anticipating due to student absences, you’ve just got to adapt on the fly.  But that’s life, right?  Nothing ever works out exactly as you think it will, and let’s be real, sometimes those spur of the moment happenings are even better.  At least, that’s what I’ve been telling myself this week : )

For now, it’s back to the drawing board for me, solidifying lesson plans for the next few days.  I’ll leave you with one fun fact though.  Ever wonder what a black hole really is?  I mean it sounds cool and all, but what is it?  A black hole is the remainders of a high mass star after it has died  – its the “graveyard” of sorts.  Basically, a high mass star (that is, a star with a mass of 3x or sun or greater), will explode in a supernova and the core of the star will collapse under the force of gravity, forming a black hole.  Gravity is so strong here that nothing, not even light, can escape.  Pretty crazy stuff.

Have any random facts to share?  Science-y or otherwise?  

 

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stars Have Been Consuming My Life

  1. Pingback: Five Things Friday | Taking on Life…One Step at a Time

Leave a Reply

