Weekly RUNdown

Monday – 41:27 run, garmin says 4.75 miles with splits:   mapmyrun says 4.95 miles.  I got hit by an acorn and it bruised (I couldn’t make this up if I wanted to!).  2100 meter pool workout:

Warmup:  300 swim, 100 kick, 100 pull (no pull buoy), 100 kick

Set: (ladder) 2×50, 2×100, 2×150, 200, 2×150, 2×100, 2×50.  I did 5-10 seconds between same distances and 30 seconds between change in distances.  I actually lumped the 200 and 2×150 together to do a continuous 500 on the way down.

Cool down: 100 easy

Tuesday: 5 min run to gym, then strength.

–  10x each front and side arm raise (8)

–  3 sets of 12x chest press (22.5, 25 for last 8), side arm rows (25) both sides

–  3 sets of 12x squat (35 lb bar), 30 x calf raise (35 lb bar)

–  3 sets of 12x squat (35 lb bar), 30 x calf raise (35 lb bar)

–  3 sets of alternate 8 pull up/5 dip (~29 assist I think?)

–  plank with feet on bosu ball, random sets of 5 push ups thrown in

–  3 sets 12x leg curl/leg extension alternate

–  squats on machine at 115

–  leg adducter @55 3×10

5 minute run back

pm 2 mile TM run to break in the new shoes!

Wednesday – 5.29 in 43:25 or an 8:12 average

Thursday – bike ride – just over 20 glorious miles at 15 mph average:)

Friday – attempt #1 at long run – made it 5.18 miles but cut it there because my leg wasn’t feeling it – I think the muscles weren’t used to biking! Added on about 35 on the elliptical and some abs in the pm

Saturday – off. Walked around in my new running shoes at Common Ground Fair to break them in.

Sunday – long run attempt #2. I was mentally prepped for rain and that was fine. Started out warm, no rain, and after 2ish miles the pouring rain came in sheets, which was fine – I had ziplocks and a hat and anti-chafe so I was prepared! But then the thunder came and it was LOUD and then I saw lightning and decided that probably wasn’t a good sign. Took cover under someone’s porch. Needless to say the long run did not happen…3rd times the charm, right? Added 37 elliptical and about 15 abs in the pm

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

