High/Low

Today was one of those days where things just didn’t go as planned, and I let that get the better of me this morning. But then I remembered the following quote:

Putting things in perspective is key. So let’s play a little High-Low on this Friday, shall we?

Low – having to cut my run unexpectedly short
High – it was an amazingly gorgeous day and I still got to enjoy it for a good number of miles
High – I spent it listening to a number of TED talks which were absolutely amazing

Low – felt like I was working all day but didn’t get much done
High – got to work outside in the sun and a more relaxed atmosphere

Low – communication about this weekends plans is lacking and I still don’t know whats going on
High – Letting someone else deal with the logistics (and driving!)

Low – My assigned reading on developing curriculum is exceedingly dull
High – I tutored a fifth grade girl this afternoon and it was actually incredibly fun and rewarding! –> this is what I’m working for!

Low – general feeling of having been beaten up by this past week – as I mentioned, Monday through Wednesday is crazy but i haven’t been feeling the “relief” of less classes Thursday and Friday – they fill up with school and meetings
High – sharing an absolutely wonderful dinner with a good friend. I love our Friday Night Dinners (Gilmore Girls anyone?!) as neither of us is rushing off and we can really talk and connect.

Care to share a high/low from your day?
Any good TED talks I should listen to?
I would recommend the following:
Christopher McDougall – Are we born to run?
*Sarah Kay – If I should have a daughter (if you don’t listen to anything else, listen to her opening. It is pure beauty.)
Janine Shepherd – A broken body isn’t a broken person

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

