21 and Finally Some Pictures

Hooray for pictures, finally!!  I am going to make an effort to bring my camera with me more often now :)  I admit I am that person who lets everyone else take pictures, and then steals theirs from facebook.  But hopefully, having this blog will change things :)Image

So, maybe you haven’t figured it out yet, but I love to cook.  And bake.  As much as I love to experiment, and as some would say “healthify” recipes, sometimes you’ve jut got to follow a recipe.  It was my friend’s 21st birthday on Sunday, and so Saturday afternoon about an hour before heading out to babysit I decided I was going to make her a cake, but not just any cake, a rich, decadent chocolate cake.  Now I’m not much of a chocolate cake or chocolate frosting person (I know, I know) but this one got rave reviews.  I only wish I got a picture after cutting it open, but there was no time for photography as the cake was devoured…I took that as a good sign :)  So without further ado…

Image

…here is the recipe I pieced together:

The Cake: 

(makes 2 9-inch round cakes)

2 cups sugar

1 3/4 cup flour

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 eggs

1 cup milk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup boiling water

Full directions here.

The Filling

1/2 cup + 1 Tbs sugar

1 tsp corn syrup (I used “Light” Corn Syrup because that’s all we had)

2/3 cup cocoa powder

2 Tbs cornstarch

2 Tbs butter, softened

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Full directions here.

The Frosting

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter

2/3 cup Cocoa powder

1/3 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

Full directions here.

Image

Happy Birthday, Heather!!

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

