Food Prep Sunday

I love creating in the kitchen.  Now, don’t get me wrong, this is great – I’d rather be confident in my experimenting abilities than eat the same thing over and over again.  There is one problem with this creativity, however.  I never know how to replicate it, because I don’t measure.  I can thank my mom for this one.  She just puts in a splash of this, a dash of that, a handful of something else, and it turns out wonderfully (especially her pasta sauce).  So when I’m cooking, I like to combine recipes or just go with it, tasting it and adding a little of this or that depending on what I think it needs.  It’s fun, it’s a surprise, but I never can quite replicate the dishes…which quite honestly is sometimes just as well.  And with that preface, here’s what I made:

Carrot-Zucchini Muffins

Mix together:

1 1/3 c whole wheat flour, 2/3 cups white flour, 1/2 cup oats

1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, 3/4 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger

Food process together:

2/3 banana

1/3 cup almond milk (the batter was dry so I probably doubled this amount)

a few teaspoons of vanilla (there’s no such thing as too much vanilla in my book)

3 Tbs water + 1 Tbs wheat germ (it was supposed to be flax seed as an egg substitute, but as I didn’t have an egg or flax seed, wheat germ had to do.  Using flax or the egg would likely make the muffin less gooey)

Mix dry with wet, then add in grated zucchini and carrot (about 2 cups) and any other add-ins such as raisins, nuts, or chocolate chips, that you want.  I baked them (muffins) for 25 minutes at 350 and then another 15 I’d say at 325.

Image

(In the oven)

Overall, the muffins were average, I’d say, which is pretty good for a first try without really following a recipe.  Using flax or an egg would help them be a bit less gooey, and if you want a sweeter muffin add some honey, sugar, or some sort of sugar.  I froze a bunch so I’ll be able to take them out for breakfast.  I’m not a huge fan of super sweet in the morning, so these will be perfect for me to get some morning veggies too :)  But overall, not a sweet, light muffin.

Beets!

Image

Nothing too exciting here, except that I harvested them from the garden this afternoon.  Now I just have a bunch of beet greens to use…aside from sautéing them, anyone have any great recipes using beet greens?

Other finds from the garden include some green beans and snap peas…

Image

…and a baby cucumber that had fallen off the vine.  For comparisons sake, let’s look at the one I harvested at the very end of the summer last year – my sister and I joked it could be used as a baseball bat!

Image

vs.

Image

I prepped the veggies (again using the food processor…this is a newly found appliance from a yard sale and I am LOVING it!) to make this frittata later in the week. http://www.peasandcrayons.com/2013/07/sweet-potato-and-spinach-frittata.html

And finally, I made a version of crispy breaded tofu.  I had extra firm tofu and cut it into strips which I rolled in corn starch, then dipped in a beaten egg, and rolled in crushed up cereal.  Well actually, we had a few bags of cereal with just the crumbs left in the bottom, so my “breading” was a combination of the leftovers of Rice Krispies, Corn Chex, and Kashi’s Cinnamon Harvest.  Image

Then I placed the strips on a greased cookie sheet and baked them at 400 for 15 minutes, flipped them, and then another 15 minutes (give or take).  They seem crispy enough…we’ll see how they taste!

That doesn’t seem like much for the amount of time I was actually in the kitchen, but it will certainly be a help during the week.  Tomorrow I’ll also probably make a batch of granola bars, as I just realized my stash in the freezer has dwindled down to one!  Now if I can only remember to measure everything tomorrow I’ll be back with a recipe for you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

