The Last Few Days

Well hello again.  Here we go again. I’m still trying to figure out the direction I’m going to take here, so bear with me a bit.  For now, though, some ramblings of what’s been going on recently.  

Last week was HOT.  I’m talking upper 90s with humidity, and combined with an hour plus commute both ways without air conditioning, well it was a fun week.  I actually came home one day and my sister asked me if I’d just gotten home from a run…nope, all that sweat was from the commute.  

Ah, well.  At least it’s cooler this week now that I’m working at an outdoor camp…not like there was air conditioning at the camp last week, but at least you could escape the sun being indoors.  I should mention that part of my work places me at different youth camps each week, so it will be really interesting comparing them in the weeks to come.  I love working with kids, so this is an amazing opportunity for me, to see various takes on summer camp and specifically the nutrition and physical activity provided at each.  

But I must say, these camps start early!  Now, I’m usually a morning person, but waking up in the 5 o’clocks in order to get to work on time is a bit rough.  I guess the silver lining is that getting up for 8:30 classes this fall will feel like I’m sleeping in!  Actually, I joked with a co-worker the other day that I was excited for jury duty, because it meant I got to sleep in…pathetic, I know, but somewhat true.  It turned out not to be bad at all, I brought a book and was only there a few hours before they let us go and I had a surprise half day off (in the pouring rain and thunder).  So what’s a person to do?  Strength training at the Y, sending a package to a teammate, making almond butter (SO good), and a couple other super exciting errands I’m sure you want to hear about.  I picked up my sister from camp counseloring (runs in the family, huh?) and ended up running into a kid I lifeguarded with a few summers ago, which was a total surprise.  

And now it’s time to pack up…tomorrow’s another day at summer camp!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

